Musings From A Bookmammal

Weekly Book Blogger Hop–Holiday Recommendations

9 Comments

book blogger hop

Click the graphic to join in!

I’m trying out a new meme today–it’s hosted over at Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer, and you can join the fun by clicking on the icon above! Each week a new bookish question is posted. This week’s question is:

What book would you recommend for a Christmas present?

untitledThis is actually a tough question! Tastes in books are so individual–what I like to read may not be what you like to read. However, there is a book that  has become my surefire “go-to gift” for book lovers of all types and for all occasions.

Forgotten Bookmarks: A Bookseller’s Collection of Odd Things Lost Between the Pages by Michael Popek is a wonderful gift for anyone who loves books, and especially for anyone who enjoys the adventure of searching through used book stores.  This wonderful book is  filled with photos of objects found in used books—pictures, notes, news clippings, postcards, receipts, old letters, and much more—it’s fascinating to imagine who these books and objects originally belonged to, and how they all ended up in the author’s used book store. Each object is paired with a photo of the book where that particular item was found. This is a great book for browsing, and it’s hard to put down–it’s so easy to get caught up in imagining the stories behind the objects on these pages!

How about you? Do you give the gift of books at Christmas or on other gift-giving occasions? Are there any books that you typically give as gifts? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

9 thoughts on “Weekly Book Blogger Hop–Holiday Recommendations

  1. Forgotten Bookmarks sounds very interesting, I really enjoy that sort of thing. Thanks for sharing, until next week 🙂
    Happy Hopping!
    Here’s my answer
    http://moniquesmobooks.blogspot.ca/2013/12/book-blogger-hop-19-holiday-edition.html

  2. I really like this title. I love when I find new books even though my TBR stack is toppling.

    THANKS so much for sharing.

    I usually only give gifts for birthday presents.

    Happy Hopping!!
    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog Hop Answer

  3. I have bought a number of books as gifts. One of my favourites of the year for a friend, a cleverly illustrated book for my son the artist and a great looking book for a child although I often buy children books I love this is one I haven’t read!

  4. Forgotten Bookmarks sounds really good. I’ll look for a copy!

  5. Wow, that sounds amazing. I wonder if it’s like the Griffin and Sabine set of books. Have you heard of those?

    Here’s my Book Blogger Hop post 🙂

    • I read the Griffin & Sabine books quite awhile ago–they are almost more artwork than books! I’m going to have to take another look at those–I remember being fascinated by the creativity, but I don’t remember too much about the storyline. Thanks for the reminder!

  6. OMG! You just added to my TBR list. This looks like a book I would love. Aargh! Thanks. Lol.

  7. Sounds like a fascinating book! I love books about books 🙂
    Here’s my Book Blogger Hop post

Leave a Reply

