Musings From A Bookmammal

WWW Wednesday

15 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

To join this weekly meme hosted by MizB, just answer these three questions:

WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

Q's LegacySome of you know that I am “slightly” obsessed with Helene Hanff, the author of one of my very favorite “books about books,” 84, Charing Cross Road. A few months ago I belatedly realized that she had written several other books, and since then I’ve been on a quest to purchase and read them. I finished Q’s Legacy a few days ago–and if you’re a fan of 84, you simply must read this book as well! It’s the story of how Hanff began corresponding with the booksellers working at 84, Charing Cross Road, how and why the original book was written,  her subsequent involvement with creating the stage version, the TV version, and the movie, and, finally, her long awaited trip to England. This is, quite simply, a wonderful companion to my old favorite, and I’m so glad that I found it! Side note–I just ordered a copy of Hanff’s biography and I can’t wait until it arrives!

WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

Little Bookstore BIg Stone GapI’m about 1/3 of the way through The Little Bookstore of Big Stone Gap: A Memoir of Friendship, Community, and the Uncommon Pleasure of a Good Book by Wendy Welch, and so far I’m enjoying it. It’s a very “homey” book about a couple who start a used bookstore from scratch in the small Appalachian town of Big Stone Gap, Virginia. The author and her husband started their book store with virtually nothing but a love of books and a desire to be a part of their new community, and the book tells the story of their successes, setbacks, challenges, and the many folks they meet along the way. If you’re looking for a comforting, relaxing read, give this book a try!

WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

I have absolutely no idea! I have some books on hold at the library that I need to pick up, I still have a stack of magazines I’m trying to make my way through, and who knows what books will make their way onto my TBR list in the next few days! My next book will be a surprise–even to me!

Have you read either of these books? If so, what did you think about them? What are you reading these days? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

15 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday

  1. Just finished reading Teatime for the Firefly by Shona Patel who lives in Fountain Hills AZ but grew up on a tea plantation in India. Fascinating read!

  2. I haven’t read any of these, but now I want to check The Little Bookstore of Big Stone Gap: A Memoir of Friendship, Community, and the Uncommon Pleasure of a Good Book out.

    This is my W… W… W… Wednesday: http://takeawalkonthewriteside.blogspot.it/2013/12/w-w-w-wednesdays-041213.html

  3. I haven’t read either of those books. Q’s legacy looks good. Here’s my WWW.
    http://world4anna1.blogspot.com/2013/12/wwwwednesday-5.html

  4. Q’s legacy looks like a great find 🙂 Here is my WWW

  5. I love your books about books! Will have to look these up Here’s my link http://wp.me/p32hC2-td

  6. I’ve got a pile of magazines to wade through, too. I need to get on it.

Leave a Reply

