Musings From A Bookmammal

Musing Mondays–When I Need A Little Inspiration . . .

8 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB that asks you to muse about one of several “bookish” questions… or, you can just ramble on about anything you like that pertains to books! You can join in by clicking the graphic above. Go ahead–it’s fun!

Here’s my Musing Monday ramble for the week:

I work in educational publishing, and, like everyone, I have my good days and my not-so-good days on the job. Lately it seems as though there have been a lot of very challenging days–days when I think I cannot possibly deal with one more ridiculous request or handle one more impossible deadline. That’s why I have several quotes posted at my desk–because, when it comes right down to it, I’m in this job because I’m passionate about helping kids learn to read and helping them learn to love reading. Sometimes I need a reminder of that.

For this week’s Musing Monday, I thought I’d post some of those quotes. These are my favorites!

“There is no such thing as a child who hates to read; there are only children who have not found the right book.”
Frank Serafini

credit Susan Diehl

credit Susan Diehl

“Any book that helps a child to form a habit of reading, to make reading one of his deep and continuing needs, is good for him.”   Maya Angelou

credit Sun Weimin

credit Sun Weimin

“We shouldn’t teach great books; we should teach a love of reading.”  B.F. Skinner

credit Alexandros Christofis

credit Alexandros Christofis

“Let children read whatever they want and then talk to them about it with them .  .   . we won’t have as much censorship because we won’t have as much fear.”  Judy Blume

credit Molly Poole

credit Molly Poole

“There are many little ways to enlarge your child’s world. Love of books is the best of all.” Jacqueline Kennedy

credit Jon Anderson

credit Jon Anderson

Have a wonderful week, everyone! If you’re able, please consider giving a child the gift of a book during this holiday season.

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

8 thoughts on “Musing Mondays–When I Need A Little Inspiration . . .

  1. Great bookish quotes!! Thanks for sharing…and here’s MY MUSING MONDAYS POST

  2. I love every quote and every one is true.

  3. Lovely pictures to go with the wonderful quotes. 🙂 I can’t wait to share the books I got for Christmas gifts with my nieces.

  4. Really like the quote about teaching a love of reading … My 11 year old daughter has been a slow to learn reader still I endeavor to foster a love of reading in her .. It’s not easy but I truly believe its worth all the effort I can give. Great musing. Here’s mine http://daystarz.wordpress.com/2013/12/02/musing-mondays-17/

    • That’s a tough one, but you’re right, of course–all you can do is continue to keep trying to expose her to books and hope that she’ll eventually find the one that starts the spark!

  5. I agree with everyone of your quotes. I no longer have many children to buy books for but those I do have will receive one as a gift as a love of reading lasts a lifetime 🙂

Leave a Reply

