Musings From A Bookmammal

Sunday Stealing–Suck It, Nerds!

13 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

What would you totally eat right now?:  I could totally eat a big chocolate Bavarian cream doughnut—but I’ll settle for a bowl of Raisin Bran.

Do you always wear a certain piece of jewelry?:  I always wear a gold ring on my right hand ring finger and little gold stud earrings.

What kind of jeans do you like?:  Good old Lee jeans.

What’s something on your want list?: I want a new dock for my iPod. Since I upgraded, my old dock isn’t compatible.

Is animal print tacky?:  I wouldn’t call it tacky, but I don’t usually wear it.

Give me a good quote that you like.:  I have this one on my desk at work: “There is no such thing as a child who hates to read; there are only children who have not found the right book.” (Frank Serafini)

Do you bite your nails?:  I used to bite my nails horribly for years. I finally quit for good a long time ago when I was going to be in my best friend’s wedding–along with an ex of mine–and I wanted every part of me to look fabulous. It worked–I quit biting my nails and have never gotten back into the habit. Now I’m often complimented on my pretty nails!

What kind of smells do you like?:  I love walking into a house and smelling a home cooked meal.

Do you wear perfume or cologne?:  Not anymore—it seems as though so many people are allergic now.  There is actually a policy at my office that we do not wear perfumes. I do use scented body scrub sometimes, and that doesn’t seem to bother anybody.

What do you think is overrated?:  Recording TV shows. I don’t have a DVR and I don’t feel deprived. If I miss a show, I miss it.

Next movie you want to see?:  I want to see “About Time”. There’s time travel involved, which I’m not usually into, but it’s supposed to be this year’s “Love Actually”, which is one of my very favorite movies. If you’ve seen it, please let me know what you thought!

Would you change your eye color if you could?:  Nope.

And what are your goals for the remainder of this year?:  Start exercising regularly again. I’ve let myself get out of the habit and I need to NOT wait until the new year—I need to get back into the habit NOW.

When is the last time you were at the hospital?  Almost two years ago when my dad had successful heart surgery.

Who introduced you to your current significant other? If you’re single, who introduced you to your last ex? I met my last ex when we were on a committee together—so I guess we introduced ourselves to each other!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

13 thoughts on “Sunday Stealing–Suck It, Nerds!

  1. Love your goal for the new year. It could apply to me, as well. And should. I’m just afraid if I get started I’m just setting myself up to fail. But I like your attitude. I should try to adapt it.

  2. That quote, should be taught to every K-3 Teacher, to inspire them to make readers out of the kids. Love your blog! ~ Mary

    • Thank you so much!
      I keep that quote on my desk for the days when I feel like I just can’t deal with one more ridiculous request–then I remember that in the end my job comes down to helping those kids find the right book.

  3. I need a dock for my iPhone to use while I am at work. Time to go shopping!

    Happy Sunday!

  4. I record almost everything I watch–I can’t stand commercials and can forward through them. I love my DVR!

  5. I hate when Apple updates and ruins things

  6. Love that quote!
    I’m with you on missing TV shows. The reruns will come along soon enough.
    And yes, I should adopt your goal. I fell and twisted my knee twice this year and have a lot of trouble with it. I’ve let exercise go. Not good. Not good at all.

    • What bugs me is that I always feel so great and virtuous when I do exercise–so why can’t I get back into that routine??? Wait a minute-why am I on my blog right now instead of on my yoga mat? 🙂

  7. I haven’t been able to exercise since I had surgery in late June and I am missing it terribly. I insisted my doctor send me to physical therapy just so I could get *something* going. Also, try Tai Chi if you never have – it is great.

  8. I was just talking to someone the other day about how we used to wait all year to see the holiday cartoons because they were only on once and we didn’t have cable and recording devices. Now you can see them just about anytime. I think your quote is true. It took finding the right book for each of my kids to begin to want to read. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

