Musings From A Bookmammal

Saturday 9–Back To Black / Amy Winehouse

11 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

1) Black is this week’s signature color because Friday, November 29, was “Black Friday,” when retailers cut their prices and consumers flock to the stores. Did you score any “Black Friday” bargains? No—I don’t like to shop on Black Friday. I do most of my holiday shopping online, and I’ll probably do most of it today and tomorrow—at home in my pajamas.

2) Legend has it that Black Friday began as a neighborhood phenomenon among storeowners in Philadelphia back in the early 1960s. What else comes to mind when you think of Philly? The very first thing that popped into my head was Elton John’s “Phildelphia Freedom.” And now it’ll probably be in my head for the rest of the day!

3) Feasting and football are also popular Thanksgiving weekend pastimes. Do your Thursday-Sunday plans include pigging out or watching a game? I don’t typically watch sports on Thanksgiving Day, but I will watch some football and hockey throughout the holiday weekend. (Side note–the Chicago Blackhawks won last night in a thrilling shootout! OK–now back to our regularly scheduled programming.) Feasting throughout the weekend is also a given…I usually like eating the leftovers more than the actual holiday meal.

4) At Thanksgiving dinners, Crazy Sam’s homemade gravy is always a hit. (Probably because she’s so generous with the cognac, which gives the gravy a nutty taste.) Do you have a signature dish? For Thanksgiving, I’m usually asked to make a cauliflower/broccoli/cheese casserole/side dish. For everyday cooking—I’m known for my spaghetti sauce with meatballs (my go-to company meal).

5) Among the biggest the Black Friday advertisers are Target, Kohl’s, Macy’s and Best Buy. If you could have a $100 gift card to any one of those stores, which would you choose? Although I love Kohl’s, I’d pick Target—you can find just about anything there!

6) You’re in a public restroom that offers both paper towels and a hot air hand dryer. Which one do you choose? Paper towels. I’m never patient enough to get all the way dry with those blowers.

7) While Back to Black is the best-selling Amy Winehouse CD, her first was called Frank, named for her hero, Frank Sinatra. Tell us about someone you inspires you. Hmmm…I’m drawing a blank on a person who inspires me. So instead, here’s a quote that continually inspires me:

Picture1

8) Do you consider yourself a pessimist or an optimist? I really try to be a “glass half full” kind of gal. Some days it’s harder than others.

9) Who was the last person you spoke to on the phone (a verbal conversation — not an exchange of texts)? I don’t text. The last person I spoke to on the phone was my mom.

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

11 thoughts on “Saturday 9–Back To Black / Amy Winehouse

  1. I enjoy Kohl’s in theory. I like their clothes and they carry Sodastream accessories at a good price. It’s just the one near me is so … ICKY! The fitting rooms are always a mess and for some reason the socks and sunglasses always look like a bomb has been detonated over there. So I’m a little wistful when I hear of people who enjoy shopping at Kohl’s.

    • That’s true–Kohl’s seems to really vary from store to store. There’s one really close to my house that I love-but the one near my office always exhausts me because I feel like I have to fight with the racks.

  2. I am with you on hand dryers and patience. I always walk away with damp hand or wiping them on my pants.

  3. Gah–Elton John is now stuck in my head!!!

  4. Love Elton John, and it’s okay if he gets stuck in my head today. I wonder if he ever did Christmas songs. I should know that but I don’t.

  5. I have done both Kohl’s and Target on black Friday in the past. Target use to give freebies away if you got there in time

  6. I’d go to Target because they sell Fancy Feast…. And I can’t talk on the phone because most people don’t understand kat. So I text. And I never use public litterboxes, but if I did I’d use paper towels.. They’re so much fun to shred.
    Purrs….

Leave a Reply

