Musings From A Bookmammal

Saturday 9–Sugar Shack / Jimmy Gilmer & The Fireballs

8 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

1) In this song, our hero orders espresso. What’s your standard coffee order?  I try to limit my caffeine so I don’t drink coffee.

2) Originally the phrase “sugar shack” meant a small cabin where sap from maple trees was boiled into syrup. So for breakfast today, would you rather pour syrup on pancakes, french toast or waffles? French toast—preferably French toast that’s stuffed with some sort of jam. Yum . . .

3) The name of the group that recorded this song is The Fireballs. “Fireballs” is also the brand name of a red hot jawbreaker. Do you like cinnamon? You bet–you can’t bake Snickerdoodles without cinnamon!

4) In 1963, when this song was a hit, newscaster Walter Cronkite was one of the most trusted and influential men in the country. Do you have a favorite TV newsperson? She’s a commentator rather than a straight newsperson, but I love Rachel Maddow. I haven’t watched network news regularly in years, but I used to like Peter Jennings.

5) The Rambler was named 1963 Car of the Year by Motor Trend, and their most popular model was a 9-passenger station wagon. What’s the car of your dreams? I am not a car person. In my family, we take really good care of our cars and we keep them until they die–I’ve only owned four cars in the past 30 years. I want a car that’s reliable and that has a good sound system to keep me occupied during my one-hour commute each way to work. I don’t really care about all the bells and whistles. I bought my current car almost exactly one year ago and I was just thrilled that it had automatic windows!

6) The Zip Code was first introduced in 1963. How many different Zip Codes have you had throughout your life?  I think. . . six. All in the same state.

7) What was the first thing you thought about when you woke up this morning? “Wow—that was a really cool dream!”

8) Are you a good pool player? I think I’ve played pool once, but there was alcohol involved. It was not a serious game of pool.

9) Do you actually make a wish when you blow out your birthday candles? Sure! Why not?

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

8 thoughts on “Saturday 9–Sugar Shack / Jimmy Gilmer & The Fireballs

  1. That’s funny about your windows! I bought an old Jeep and have to tell people to lock the door behind them, there is nothing automatic about it! And to open a window? Unzip it! 🙂

  2. When I got my current car I was excited it had a CD player. 😉

  3. Who doesn’t make a wish when they blow out candles ? Nearly as bad as saying you don’t believe in fairies! 😉

  4. I also like Rachel Maddow and I’m impressed with her education. She is a Rhodes Scholarship with a PhD in Philosophy.

  5. I’m not a coffee drinker either

  6. I like Rachel Maddow, too.

  7. Doesn’t Rachel Maddow sound like she’s talking directly to us? (I mean, rather than reading from a script.)

Leave a Reply

