Musings From A Bookmammal

WWW Wednesday

5 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

To join this weekly meme, just answer these three questions:

WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

furious loveI read portions of Furious Love: Elizabeth Taylor, Richard Burton, and the Marriage of the Century a couple of years ago when an excerpt of the book was in Vanity Fair magazine–and I was reminded of it in a recent WWW post. This was a great read because it was pure escapism–it had absolutely nothing to do with my life! I don’t drink to excess on a daily basis, I don’t give or receive enormous jewels, and I don’t hop from country to country to avoid paying taxes. I also think that I’m happier than these stars were on most days–if there’s anything that proves that money and fame can’t buy happiness, it’s the story told in this book.

WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

outtakesI decided to stick with the marriage theme, so I picked up a backlisted novel from several years ago. Outtakes From a Marriage by Ann Leary is the story of an ordinary couple who marry young–and then several years later the husband  becomes a famous actor, while the wife remains a stay-at-home mom to their two children. The book begins when the wife accidently hears a suspicious voicemail message meant for her husband. So far it’s a really good read — I care about the characters and the dialogue is believable. I’m about half-way through and am hoping to finish it in the next day or so.

WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

This is always subject to change, but right now I’m thinking that, instead of digging into another book right away, I’m going to tackle the stack of Smithsonian magazines that are living in a stack by my bed. I love Smithsonian–mostly because the articles are always relevant and they never seem dated, and there are ALWAYS several long articles in each issue that catch my interest. I have several months worth of these to catch up on–sounds like a perfect way to spend a lazy weekend afternoon!

What about you? Have you read any of these books? What are you reading, or planning to read? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

5 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday

  1. Outakes from a Marriage sounds good 🙂

  2. The Elizabeth Taylor book looks good. THANKS for sharing.

    ENJOY the rest of the week.

    BTW…Stop by for a FUN giveaway too: GIVEAWAY It ends Thursday, November 21, at midnight.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My W…W…W…

  3. I used to read Smithsonian–it is a great mag.

  4. I have NO IDEA what I read last and it’s not because it was a long time ago. Oh, yes. Dorothea Benton Frank’s latest – but still forget the title. I always like the settings. This one was set in Charleston and Sullivan’s Island. Now reading W is For Wasted, Sue Grafton. I’ve just ordered from the library Shona Patel’s book Teatime for the firefly. New author. Book set during the British raj, a young Indian couple trying to integrate with the prickly British in the tea plantation society of WWII. Sounds fascinating. Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

