Musings From A Bookmammal

Six Word Saturday

26 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Changes on the way at work.

question diceI’m feeling pretty unsettled these days. There’s a big restructuring on the way at my company—the official announcement will probably be made this coming week, but the changes will come in waves over the next several months. I’m not really concerned that my job will be eliminated, but I’m very concerned that my job description may change. I simply love what I do right now, and I’m not sure that it’s going to continue in the same capacity. I’m making a very conscious effort to not spend time worrying over something I can’t control—but that’s part of what has me feeling a little at sea—I have absolutely no control over what may or may not happen over the next few months. I’m just going to have to trust what I have generally found to be true in the past—that everything happens for a reason, and that my performance history with the company will carry me through these changes.

So–in the meantime, I’m looking forward to a relaxing weekend of reading, cooking, napping, and some organizing. That last one isn’t a coincidence—if I can’t control what’s going on at work right now, I can at least control the clutter on my desk and in my closets!

How about you? What’s on your agenda for the weekend? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

26 thoughts on “Six Word Saturday

  1. You have a good attitude. Enjoy your weekend.

  2. Oh good luck for sure. They say sometimes even when we think it won’t be good, give it a second look! I wish you the best!

  3. Hi Dawn ~~ This is not a good feeling, I know. I’ve been shuffled a lot during my work life, especially at NASA because our jobs were on projects that ran (flew) and then it was time for another project to fit in with people already there. Retirement now and at least there isn’t worry about that. The main thing is keeping the job and
    it really isn’t bad learning new routines and ways and improvements.

    The road in my picture would only be 65-75 if not in town for MUCH slower speeds.
    ..

    • Yes, you’re right about that–sometimes change is good! I just know that I’ve been so fortunate to be able to look forward to going to work everyday because I truly love what I do–and I hope that I don’t lose the parts of my job that provide me with that satisfaction!
      Thanks for the kind words!

  4. I know that when I feel like things are out of my control it always helps me to organize or clean and to feel like I am at least in control of somethings! 🙂 So it looks like you and I are a like. I don’t usually like changes in my life either, when they first happen…but they usually work out well in the end! I hope this will work out fine for you!

    At any rate…have a Happy Saturday! 🙂

    Linda @ Truthful Tidbits

  5. I know the feeling, but with the experience of job searching recently, I would be happy to have the job. Good on you to do what you need to do this weekend.

  6. Sorry to hear you’ve got some uncertainty in your workplace. You’ve got such a great attitude about it!

  7. I remember that feeling so well from my working days. I was in State Benefits and change seemed to be mandatory. Always someone with a better idea 😦 Enjoy your leisure in that lovely snuggly library of yours 🙂

  8. I can relate, my husband’s job is hovering right now. No point worrying about things you can’t change, but we can sure economize. Good luck.

  9. You have a good attitude. Wishing you all the best that it works out well for you – and it will.

  10. You have my sympathy…the hardest part with all these restructures is the not knowing. I hope you keep the best bits. Good luck

    • That’s true–sometimes ignorance is NOT bliss! I’ll just be glad to know some facts, because as I’m sure you can imagine, there are lots of rumors flying about. This coming week should provide some answers!

      • Really hope things settle down soon for you – there is nothing worse than rumours, trying to work out what the truth is becomes really hard work! As you can tell I’m speaking from some experience 😉

  11. Hope the changing are to your liking, and enjoy a relaxing weekend. I’m baking, by the way, and then painting in the inside of a closet.

  12. Pingback: Six word Saturday: a New Zealand Christmas tree | Zimmerbitch: age is just a (biggish) number

Leave a Reply

