Musings From A Bookmammal

Friday Finds

6 Comments

fridayfinds5

FRIDAY FINDS is a weekly meme to share the books you ‘found’ and added to your To Be Read (TBR) list this week… whether you found them online, or in a bookstore, or in the library — wherever! (they don’t necessarily need to be books you purchased) Click the icon above to join in!

I’m limiting myself to the new books that have actually entered my home–-bought new, bought used, and/or borrowed from the library. I’m not listing books that I simply added to by TBR list–that could take days! This week it’s three books that I purchased–no library books this week, and no used book purchases–both unusual for me. Ready? Here we go!

FFC

Awhile back I wrote a post about my favorite books about books–and The Little Bookstore of Big Stone Gap by Wendy Welch is a book that was suggested to me in the comments to that post. It’s the memoir of a couple who start a used bookstore in a large house in a small Appalachian town. This sounds like just the kind of book that I love, and I can’t believe I missed it when it came out last year.

I read Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple about a year ago on my kindle. The story is told through letters, emails, journal entries, transcripts, etc–and the plot is kind of hard to explain. VERY briefly, it’s about a woman (Bernadette) who leaves her family to go on a trip to Antarctica, and her teenage daughter’s efforts to find out where she is and why she left. In the process, lots of secrets about Bernadette and the whole family are revealed. I am definitely not doing this book the justice it deserves–you really need to read it for yourself! I loved the unconventional way that the plot unfolded, and some of the understated humor made me literally laugh out loud. This is one of those books that I just had to own a “real” copy of, so when I realized it was now out in paperback, I bought a copy.

Double Down: Game Change 2012 by Mark Halperin and John Heilemann is the inside story of the 2012 presidential campaign season. I love politics, and I love reading behind-the-scenes nonfiction–so I’ve been waiting anxiously for this book to be released. It finally came out this past Tuesday, and I splurged and bought the hardcover because I just couldn’t wait to start reading it. I’m only a couple of chapters in, but so far, so good–and I’m looking forward to spending some quality time with this book over the weekend!

What about you? Have you read any of these? What new books have you added to your TBR pile this week? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

6 thoughts on “Friday Finds

  1. Happy reading, I’m liking the sound of Where’d You Go, Bernadette.

Leave a Reply

