Musings From A Bookmammal

WWW Wednesday

16 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

To join in, just answer these three questions:

WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

fangirl

I’ve written about “Fangirl”–and Rowell’s previous “Eleanor & Park”– a couple of times already on this blog, so I won’t go on and on. I’ll just say that even though I’m not technically in the target audience for this Young Adult novel, I enjoyed it immensely and I read most of it in two marathon reading sessions.

I always think that one of the measures of a really talented writer is the ability to write authentic sounding dialogue–and Rainbow Rowell is a master at capturing the sound of high school and college age characters. The dialogue consistently rings true, to the point where after just a few chapters I could hear the main character’s voices in my head. Another thing I like about Rowell’s writing is her ability to surprise–there were times when I thought the plot was going to go in a predictable, safe direction–and I was always pleasantly surprised when it didn’t. I did think that the last fifth of the book slowed down quite a bit–I think it could have ended a  little sooner–but all in all, I rank this book just a bit under “Eleanor & Park”–which is one of the best books I read all year.

WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

double downSome people count down the days to album releases. . . Some people mark the day that a movie will open in the theater. .  . I’ve had November 5 circled on my calendar for ages as the day when “Double Down” by Mark Halperin and John Heilemann would be in the bookstores! What can I say? I’m an unapologetic book geek and political junkie–so much so that I went over to the nearby Barnes & Noble on my lunch hour yesterday to splurge on a hardcover copy because I just HAD to start reading it the day it was released.

This book covers the inside story of the 2012 presidential campaign. The authors also wrote “Game Change”–their bestselling book about the 2008 campaign–which I devoured four years ago. I was pretty much glued to the TV during the last presidential election season–which keeps getting longer every four years– so I’m not expecting any big surprises here, but I can’t tell you how excited I am to dig into this one!

WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

I really have no idea! “Double Down” is going to take me awhile as it’s over 400 pages and I just started it last night. I don’t know what I’ll be in the mood for when I finish it. Stay tuned . . .

What about you? Have you read either of these books? What are you reading, or planning to read? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

16 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday

  1. I really enjoyed Fangirl too. It was a great read. I really like Rainbow Rowell.

  2. I haven’t read these books, but I have heard of Fan Girl a few times! I know what you mean about not knowing what to read next after a large novel. I’m planning to read the second Game of Thrones book, and those novels are sooo long! I’ll probably just want to read something really short and fast after that.

    Tina @ Pages of Comfort – new follower via bloglovin!

    mine: http://pagesofcomfort.blogspot.com/2013/11/www-wednesday.html

    • I know what you mean–after something long and heavy I often crave reading something that’s just FUN and that doesn’t require too much thinking! 🙂
      Thanks for following–stop back soon!

  3. Love your passion for Fan Girl… I’m not really sure whether I would tackle Double Down but I do hope you enjoy it!

  4. I await your review of Double Down–I can’t decide if it interests me or not. Fangirl is on my TBR!

  5. You know I’m loving E&P and Fangirl is already high on my to read list. Now it’s moving up. I agree that this author nails teen dialog. She immerses me completely! The authors of Double Down are coming tho Chicago next week. I’m toying with the idea of going. I will be interested to learn what you pick up after it.

  6. I just bought Game Change today. I have a feeling Double Down is in my future. I know Fangirl is!

    • I hope you enjoy Game Change–I’m sure I’ve forgotten a lot of what happened during that campaign season by now. So far I’m enjoying Double Down–but I’m only a couple of chapters in.

  7. Loved Game Change and always enjoy seeing Halperin/Heilmemann interviewed, but I’m wondering if Double Down will be as fascinating. No Sarah Palin, no John Edwards = less high (low?) drama. I’ll be interested to see how you enjoy it.

  8. i keep running into fangirl!

Leave a Reply

