Musings From A Bookmammal

Sunday Stealing—Time Keeps On Slippin’

16 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

dont-forget-to-fall-back_t1) Do you think Daylight Saving Time is still necessary? Maybe not so much anymore–It was originally because of agriculture and farmers, right?

2) How long does it take you to adjust to the time change? It takes my cats awhile to figure it out. No one tells them to adjust their furry little clocks, so they expect their breakfast an hour earlier than they get it for a few days.

3) What’s the hardest part of the time change? Coming home from work in the dark. It makes me want to go straight home, get into my pjs, and hibernate. I have little to no initiative to stop on the way home from work to run errands when I’m coming home in the dark.

4) How many clocks are in your house? 8–stove, microwave, clock-radio, BOSE radio, laptop, little stand-alone clock, ipod, cellphone.

5) Are you generally early, late, or on time? I really try to be on time or a little early. I think it’s a sign of disrespect for other people’s time if someone is chronically late—that’s a pet peeve of mine.

6) If an invitation to an event listed the time as 8-11pm, what time would you arrive? Depends on the event. Do I have to try to get a good seat, or is it assigned seating? That will make a difference.

7) Do you wear a watch? Not anymore.

8) Have you ever glanced at the time and had to glance again because you didn’t pay attention the first time? sure

9) Are most of your clocks digital or dial?  I have one “old school” clock with hands on one of my bookcases. Everything else is digital.

10) What does your alarm clock sound like? Beep. . . beep. . . beep. . . BEEPBEEPBEEP!

11) Do you use the snooze feature on your alarm clock? Always—at least once per wake-up. I plan it that way.

12) Does clock ticking drive you nuts? I can’t even remember the last time I heard a clock ticking—but I don’t think it used to bother me.

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

16 thoughts on “Sunday Stealing—Time Keeps On Slippin’

  1. Another post that I agree with! Our clocks went back last weekend and it is horrid coming home in the dark plus I hate being late (and hate others being late almost as much!) All the darkness makes me want to hibernate with a good book.

    • Chronic lateness is a big thing with me. Things happen–everyone is late sometimes–but people who are always late are such a source of annoyance to me! And people who are chronically late for work is another whole deal–how much more basic can you get than the expectation of being on time for work??? (OK–mini-rant is over now!)

  2. People being late is one of my pet peeves too. You must watch the movie ‘It’s a Disaster.’ Julia Stiles has an awesome section where she lectures people about being late. 🙂

  3. Pets are smart about that kind of stuff

  4. You are so right about #3….the urge to “hibernate” does get stronger this time of year, but it’s one of the things I love about it….the drawing in and together of the family. It’s all so cozy.

  5. It always takes my body a few weeks to adjust to the time change. And I’m another hibernation fan. Especially when it’s cold and snowy.

  6. Arizona (and Hawaii) doesn’t do Daylight Savings Time. They have enough daylight as it is. It’s the rest of the country that has to mess with the clocks! I like to hear a clock ticking. Himself hates it.

  7. Ah those little pets with their inner clocks. Wolfie will be getting DH up at 4 am tomorrow. I’m so glad I don’t feed W in the morning. 🙂

  8. I am not so fond of coming home in the dark, either. But I am sitting here in my home office, with the dark outside, and listening to my clocks tick. And that’s not so bad.

  9. Calling all bloggers, I’m compiling a list of freshman bloggers ( anyone with less than 200 followers) so we can find and support each other. If you’re interested or know anyone who might be, send your URL and I’ll include you on the list. I’ll post it when I get enough names.
    P.S. I wish Daylight savings time would go away.

  10. time for the seasonal affected disorder, with more darkness at hand lol

Leave a Reply

