Musings From A Bookmammal

Friday Finds

11 Comments

fridayfinds5

FRIDAY FINDS is a weekly meme to share the books you ‘found’ and added to your To Be Read (TBR) list this week… whether you found them online, or in a bookstore, or in the library — wherever! (they don’t necessarily need to be books you purchased) Click the icon above to join in!

I’m limiting myself to the new books that have actually entered my home this week–-bought new, bought used, and/or borrowed from the library. I’m not listing books that I simply added to by TBR list–that could take days! This week it’s four books from the library–no book purchases this week. Here we go!

friday 11.1 cropped

Sister, Mother, Husband, Dog (etc.) by Delia Ephron

This is a collection of autobiographical essays about life phases, family, marriage, and other relationships. I loved the author’s long out-of-print book of essays called Funny Sauce and I’m looking forward to this brand-new collection. I’m especially interested in her essay about her sister, author Nora Ephron, who recently passed away.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I simply adored Rowell’s previous book, Eleanor & Park. This is her latest. I’m hoping that I’m not expecting too much out of this one, but for me, it’s going to be really tough to match the impact of her last book. I’ve got my fingers crossed!

Top Down: A Novel of the Kennedy Assassination by Jim Lehrer

This has the potential to either be really good–or really bad. It’s billed as a  novel about a fictional character who inadvertently set a series of events in motion on 11/22/63 that played a part in the assassination of JFK–and the impact that had on this character in later years. The author is a respected journalist and was an eyewitness to the actual assassination. I have a longstanding interest in all things about the Kennedys, and I’m really hoping that Jim Lehrer can pull this one off!

Furious Love: Elizabeth Taylor, Richard Burton, and the Marriage of the Century by Sam Kashner & Nancy Schoenberger

I remember reading an excerpt of this book in Vanity Fair magazine a couple of years ago when it was first published–and I remember being fascinated by what I read  and wanting to know more. However, I forgot all about the book in the midst of all my other TBR books. A recent post by One Gal’s Musings mentioned this book and reminded me of why I wanted to read the whole thing! This may be what I choose to read next–I’m in the mood for some good Hollywood romance and excess!

What about you? Have you read any of these? What new books have you added to your TBR pile this week? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

11 thoughts on “Friday Finds

  1. The only Rainbow Rowell I read was Attachments, and I loved it. I definitely need to check out Eleanor and Park, too. Here are my Friday Finds.

    • I started “Attachments” but couldn’t get into it–maybe I just wasn’t in the right mood. But “Eleanor & Park” was one of the best books I’ve read this year!

  2. I can’t wait to get my hands on Fangirl–I plan to give it as a Christmas gift to one of my nieces, too.

  3. ‘In the Garden of Beasts” by Erik Larson

  4. I have been seeing Fangirl everywhere, am desperate to pick this one up for myself. Enjoy all your reads! <a href="http://reviewsfromabookworm.blogspot.co.uk/2013/11/book-haul-7-first-ever-giveaway.html"My FF.

  5. I have yet to read Fangirl, but it IS sitting right next to my bed waiting for me to pick it up. It’ll probably be the first novel I read in December after I’ve recuperated a bit from NaNoWriMo. 🙂

Leave a Reply

