Musings From A Bookmammal

WWW Wednesday

20 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

To join in, just answer these three questions:

WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

I missed joining in on this meme last week, so I’ve got some catching up to do! Here’s a sample of what I’ve finished in the past two weeks:

apple of my eyeApple Of My Eye by Helene Hanff

Written by the author of 84, Charring Cross Road, one of my favorite “books about books”, this nonfiction book was written in 1977 and is a guidebook of sorts to New York City–but it’s so much more than that! The premise is that the author was asked to write copy for a photography book about NYC, and even though she was a longtime New Yorker, she realized she’d never been to most of the top tourist attractions such as the Statue of Liberty, Radio City Music Hall, etc. She and a friend go on a  tour of popular tourist stops over the course of several months and they learn a lot about the city they love. I really liked this book–although I’m not sure I’d want to travel with her (she comes off as a little bossy at times!), I love Hanff’s writing voice and the sense of humor she brings to her experiences. Her account of visiting the World Trade Center and the Windows On The World restaurant is quite funny (her friend is horribly afraid of heights) but also very poignant to read–as, of course, we all know how that part of the story will end.

The BookstoreThe Bookstore by Deborah Meyler

For a booklover, what could be better than reading a book about a character who works in a bookstore? This debut novel focuses on a young graduate student from England who lives in New York City. She begins working at a neighborhood bookstore populated with caring, yet eccentric characters as she tries to come to terms with a breakup and an unexpected pregnancy. I enjoyed this book–there were times when I thought the author was going to resort to predictability, but she kept surprising me by taking the plot in a different direction. I found the main character likeable, even though I wanted to shake her at times! If you’re looking for a good “book about books”, give this one a try!

Picture1Drama High by Michael Sokolove

I’m always interested in books that take me “behind the scenes” and, as a former teacher, I also like reading books about the lives of teachers and students. This book has all of that–it’s the true story of a year in the life of a high school drama teacher and the students that are cast in the play and the musical that are produced that year. I’ve never been involved in drama myself, but I found the descriptions of what goes into putting together a school production very interesting–and much more demanding than I’d imagined. The story of the teacher was also fascinating because he had absolutely no experience in drama before becoming a drama teacher–yet he helped to develop a number of student actors who went on to great success professionally.

WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

king-on-writingOn Writing: A Memoir Of The Craft by Stephen King

I’ve already read this book, but I found a used copy last week and just had to buy it. I’m not a fan of King’s novels–I just don’t care for that genre–but I loved this book when I read it a couple of years ago. Part memoir and part writing manual, it takes you on a great journey of how King has grown personally and professionally–and it includes wonderful, practical advice for writers at all levels. I’m re-reading it because I’m in the mood to read something predictable, and something that I know I’ll enjoy.

WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

Me-Before-You-book-cover-Jan-12-p122Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

This is one of those novels that I feel as though everyone has read but me! I’ve got a copy from the library and I think I’ll give it a try. However, as always, my reading plans are subject to change without notice!

What about you? Have you read any of these books? What are you reading, or planning to read? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

20 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday

  1. Great on finishing so many books last week. I can usually only get one done a week.

    I have THE BOOKSTORE…thanks for your thoughts on it.

    Have a great rest of the week.

    Giveaway on my blog if you want to stop. The post is called: GUESS THE AUTHOR.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My W…W…W…

  2. Drama High looks good 🙂 I also like the look of The Bookstore. Me Before You is one of my favourite books, so I really hope you enjoy it! 😀

  3. The Bookstore looks really good! I’m adding it to my to-reads!
    Hope you enjoy the books!

    Here it my www http://interestedinall.blogspot.com/2013/10/books-www-wednesday-oct-30-2013.html

    Happy Reading! ^^

  4. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays October 30, 2013 | The Book Lover's Attic

  5. I’ve watned to read The Bookstore for such a long time! May have to push it up on the ol’ to read list.

    Here’s my WWW:
    http://justaddchampagne.blogspot.ca/2013/10/www-wednesday-and-book-review-of.html

  6. I think I’ll add The Bookstore to the TBR mountain. Stephen Kings book on writing is good isn’t it?
    My WP Blog and Blogger

    • I’d forgotten how much I enjoyed King’s book until I started re-reading it. His writing advice is so sensible–yet he presents it with humor. I wish I liked his novels more!

  7. I’ve been to several different King lectures and workshops, he’s as engaging in person as in his book. He was very generous with my writing class when I was in college.

    I hope you like Me Before You because I loved it!!!

  8. Can’t wait to hear what you think of Me Before You, it’s such a fab book. Here’s my WWW http://wp.me/p32hC2-r1

  9. I really enjoyed Me Before You although I wasn’t sure I would. Love your comments on The Bookstore which as you know is one of my favourites of this year! Here is mine http://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2013/10/30/www-wednesday-october-30/ 🙂

  10. I’ve just finished Grisham’s “The Racketeer.” Couldn’t put it down. Have ordered from the library his “Sycamore Row.” I’m number 394 on the list. I’ll try to finish the other 6 books I’m in the middle of now.

  11. I’ve wanted to read Drama High since I first heard about it, and The Bookstore looks really really good! On Writing is one of those writing books that I own but just haven’t managed to read all the way through. The perils of being a writer who would rather write than read about writing XD

Leave a Reply

