Musings From A Bookmammal

Sunday Stealing–They Say It’s Your Birthday

10 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

cake1. As you get older, are you jazzed about your birthday?  Not so much—I don’t dread it, but it’s kind of just another day. However—I was THRILLED to turn 50 earlier this year! I was in a really good place emotionally and mentally to hit that marker—and I still feel that way. So far 50 has treated me really well!

2. Do people usually remember your birthday? My family does—and at work we make a big deal out of each other’s birthdays.

3. An ex-coworker used to begin 3 mos. before her birthday flat-out reminding us that it was coming up. It’s amazing what no self-esteem does for you. Anyway, do you know anyone who pre-announces their birthdays? Nope.

4. What was your best birthday? Why? I don’t even have to think about this one. Best birthday I ever had was my 22nd. I’d graduated from college a few weeks before, and my five best college friends all came to my parents’ house for the weekend (one of them told me she couldn’t come and then showed up as a surprise). We all spent the weekend together doing dumb, fun stuff like playing ping pong and croquette, going to the lake, and watching terrible movies. Then the day after they all left I went on an interview and was offered my first teaching job–and started a whole new life chapter. I still smile when I remember that weekend.

5. What was your worst birthday? Why?  I can’t remember any horrible birthdays, but I was not excited at all to turn 30. I was still in the phase of what I “should” be doing with my life then, and I didn’t think I was where I was supposed to be at 30. Turning 40 and 50 were a breeze compared to that birthday!

6. Name your best birthday gift.  I remember getting a 2-wheeled bike for my 6th birthday and bursting into tears because I was so happy. It was blue with streamers on the handle bars. We didn’t wear bike helmets in those days, but I survived!

7. Name the best birthday gift you’ve gotten for someone else. I am honestly coming up blank here–let’s move on! 

8. As I age, I value SLEEP as a priceless commodity. I didn’t get any for my birthday, however. What do you want this year for your birthday? I really don’t need any more material stuff. I’d like “sappy” stuff like continued good health and continued years with my parents. But if you insist on getting me a tangible gift–I’ll never say no to chocolate!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

10 thoughts on “Sunday Stealing–They Say It’s Your Birthday

  1. Chocolate is always a good BD present! I am so glad that turning 50 was good for you. I dreaded the day and then felt much better when I finally *was* 50. Plus I am also celebrating 30 years of marriage this year, kind of a big year for me, and then my health went to heck. It is what it is, I should have taken better care of myself in those first 49 years, I guess. I wish for you continued wonderfulness throughout your 50th year and beyond.

  2. First of all, kudos to you for correcting the capitalization on the questions. It was too much work for lazy ol’ me, but the l/c just bugged the hell out of me. And welcome to the 50+ club. I find it’s filled equally with melancholia and exhilaration.

    Loved your twenty second story.

  3. I loved your answers! I’m planning a trip to Italy for my 50th (it’s a couple years away). I want to make it extra memorable!

  4. There is absolutely nothing wrong with sappy stuff! 🙂

  5. Funny how many people mentioned turning 50 in their answers.

  6. That birthday weekend sounds like the best! I would love that even now. I forgot until you described your best gift that mine, also a bike, had streamers on the handle bars. Thanks for adding to the memory. 🙂 And no, 50 isn’t going to be so bad….birthdays 30 thru 45 were the rough ones. It’s going to be a breeze now.

Leave a Reply

