Musings From A Bookmammal

Six Word Saturday

14 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Pretty much the best dog ever!

SebastianThis is Sebastian—he’s my parents’ dog. They adopted him about three years ago from the local pet rescue. I see him about every month or so when I visit them, and when I walk in the door he always acts as though I am the most exciting, fabulous creature he’s ever laid paws on.

When I’m not around, he’s definitely my mom’s dog and he always wants to be sure of where she is and what she’s doing. However, when my dad had major surgery about a year ago, Sebastian wouldn’t leave his side for the first few days after he got home from the hospital. Somehow, he just knew that my dad needed a little extra attention and protection. He also regularly defends both of my parents from dangerous threats such as squirrels and empty bags when they’re taking walks.

I love my two cats to pieces, and I’d love to have a dog, too—but  I’m just not home enough and my house isn’t big enough for myself, the cats, and another four-legged mammal.  So I just satisfy myself with spending time with Sebastian as I did yesterday and this morning–giving him belly rubs, cuddling with him on the couch, and telling him what a handsome boy he is, and that he’s the best dog ever.

As a side note–I know that those of you who have your own dogs are thinking “Nope–MY DOG is pretty much the best dog ever!” And that is just as it should be! Whatever would we do without our pets?

What about you? What are you thinking about on this fine Saturday? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

14 thoughts on “Six Word Saturday

  1. I remember that my sister had a dog when she was still a young teen & I was already out of the house. I remember that his name was Andrew, and he could speak English. Weirdest thing you ever saw.

  2. Sebastian is a great dog name. 🙂

  3. Thanks for sharing your story. It made me happy.

  4. what a great dog; ; love the photo AND the name. Most of my critters get ‘human’ names, no idea why, but the names usually fit much better than the kitty-doggy names. Sometimes its easier to be best buds with someone else’s dog than your own–I love dogs, but also know the vast amount of care a happy dog requires…

  5. I cannot imagine what I would do without Pipsqueak. She is the best. I can see how much you enjoy Sebastian, too.

  6. Dogs are so cool – non-judgmental, affectionate, attentive, don’t talk back, don’t expect much in return – walk, food, bed!

  7. He has a lovely face! Saturday’s gone and my Sundays are mostly cooking and housework (shame!) Might get out for a walk later but our clocks just changed so it will be dark EARLY! Enjoy your day 🙂

Leave a Reply

