Musings From A Bookmammal

Friday Finds

7 Comments

fridayfinds5

Click here to play along!

FRIDAY FINDS is a weekly meme to share the books you ‘found’ and added to your To Be Read (TBR) list this week… whether you found them online, or in a bookstore, or in the library — wherever! (they don’t necessarily need to be books you purchased). Click the icon above to join in!

I’m limiting myself to the new books that have actually entered my home this week–-bought new, bought used, and/or borrowed from the library. This week it’s three books from the library and one used book purchase–all nonfiction. Here we go!

Picture1

David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling Giants by Malcolm Gladwell

I’ve been looking forward to this book for a long time as I’ve really enjoyed all of Gladwell’s previous books. I like the way he combines psychology, science, history, and great storytelling skills to challenge the way we think about common beliefs and events in our lives, and I admire his ability to simplify his ideas into an easy to read writing style. From the front flap of this book: “…Gladwell challenges how we think about obstacles and disadvantages, offering a new interpretation of what it means to be discriminated against, or cope with a disability, or lose a parent, or attend a mediocre school, or suffer from any number of other apparent setbacks.”

High Rise Stories: Voices From Chicago Public Housing complied and edited by Audrey Petty

I love reading oral histories, and I have high hopes for this book. It’s made up of first-person accounts of people who’ve lived in Chicago’s public housing projects–most of which have been torn down within the past 10-20 years to make way for new residences and other construction. I grew up in the Chicago suburbs and heard news stories about the crime and poverty in these inner city residences–and I often wondered about the lives of the people who lived there day after day, year after year. When these high rises started to be demolished several years ago, I found myself wondering where the people whose families had lived there for generations would go. I know that this will probably be a tough read, but I’m hoping it answers some of my questions.

On Writing: A Memoir Of The Craft by Stephen King

I’m not a big fan of Stephen King’s novels–I just don’t favor that particular genre–but I LOVED his book on the art of writing when I read it about a year ago. Part autobiography and part writing manual, this book offers practical advice for writers at all levels as well as an account of his own development as a writer, and how writing helped him move towards recovery after a very serious accident in 1999. I found a used copy of this book and, even though I’ve already read it, I just had to buy it!

Drama High: The Incredible True Story Of A Brilliant Teacher, A Struggling Town, And The Magic Of Theater by Michael Sokolove

As a former teacher, I like reading both fiction and nonfiction dealing with all aspects of education. I also really enjoy “behind the scenes” books. This book covers both areas! It’s the true story of a drama teacher and his students in Levittown, Pennsylvania–and has been described as “Friday Night Lights meets Glee”. I can’t wait to start reading this one!

What about you? Have you read any of these? What new books have you added to your TBR pile this week? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

7 thoughts on “Friday Finds

  1. Another variety of books chosen by you – love the picture of them too… Happy reading!

  2. i will check King’s book on writing, thnaks!

  3. Drama High sounds amazing! And I still need to read On Writing….

Leave a Reply

