Musings From A Bookmammal

Read Your Way Across The USA!

8 Comments

I found this infographic (original source is Business Insider) on Pinterest recently–it shows one person’s idea of the most well-known book set in each of the fifty United States. How many states have you “read”? My tally is below the graphic.

most%20famous%20books%20in%20each%20state

Here are the states I’ve “read”:

Alabama–To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Alaska–Into The Wild by Jon Krakauer

California–East Of Eden by John Steinbeck (I can still remember the summer that I read this book–what an epic story!)

Georgia–Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell

Iowa-A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley

Michigan-The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides

Missouri-The Adventures Of Tom Sawyer

Nebraska-My Antonia by Willa Cather (I didn’t like this when I read it in HS, but I think  it was  because I didn’t care for my English teacher that year. I should give Willa Cather another try one of these days!)

New York-The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Pennsylvania-The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

Rhode Island-My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult I (loved this book until the very end–I HATED the ending!)

Tennessee-The Firm/The Client by John Grisham

Wisconsin-Little House In The Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder

How about you? Have you read the book that represents your state? How many of the others have you read? Do you agree that the book shown for your state is the best representation for your state? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

8 thoughts on “Read Your Way Across The USA!

  1. I’ve read a few of them – not as many as you. I need 48 hour days to fit in all the reading I would like to do.

  2. What a great idea for a graphic! I’ve read 13 too and not all the same ones as you. I had more from the second column than the first 🙂

  3. I’ve read 18, many from the first column. Trying to do anything else – whatsoever – cuts into reading time! Well, you all know that.

  4. I’ve read To Kill a Mockingbird, My Antonia, and all the books for young people. Speaking of which, I wonder if there’s a list exclusively of young people’s books for all the states. Maybe I’ll have to research it for my blog. 🙂

  5. Pingback: The Most Famous Author From Every State! | Musings From A Bookmammal

Leave a Reply

