Musings From A Bookmammal

Six Word Saturday

16 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Homemade soup will soon be simmering!

Slow-Cooker-Vegetable-Beef-Barley-Mushroom-Soup-e1321722727401It’s going to be a chilly day today–maybe even some rain–and I think I may be coming down with a cold. So that means it’s a perfect day to make soup! I love to make homemade soups because I don’t really have to measure anything–I just keep throwing vegetables and seasonings into the pot and I stop when it gets full. Plus, I find cleaning and chopping vegetables to be very calming and relaxing because I can completely let my mind drift while I’m doing it.

Today I’m going to make Beef-Vegetable-Barley soup. This morning I’ll brown the meat and then let it simmer in broth with some onions and spices for several hours. Later on I’ll add other vegetables and the barley. By late afternoon I’ll have a rich, comforting soup that I’ll probably eat tonight and tomorrow, and then I’ll freeze the rest for other days.

How about you? What are your plans for your Saturday? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

16 thoughts on “Six Word Saturday

  1. I hope you feel better soon! That yummy soup should help.

  2. It’s hard work posting on 6Ws today, isn’t it? 3rd time lucky for me 🙂
    Ah well- the soup looks good!

  3. Same here… we made a comfy soup as well: beef-pumpkin 🙂
    It’s the time of the year for that I guess (at least here it is)
    Enjoy your weekend *and* soup!

  4. My favourite soup is cauliflower and ginger but yours sounds wonderfully satisfying.

  5. Your soup sounds soooo delicious. I’m sure it will cure anything that ails you. We’re having homemade turkey noodle soup tonight. I just need to add the potatoes and pasta. It’s not really soup weather here in Arizona but hey ho – I love soup!

  6. That sounds delicious! I hope this helps keep the sickness away.

  7. Nice! It’s Spring here but coolish today, so I am cooking up a big pot of veggie and lentil soup myself.

  8. Hope you are better now after having your wonderful soup! 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

