Musings From A Bookmammal

WWW Wednesday

12 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

To join in, just answer the following three (3) questions…

What are you currently reading?

The School of Essential IngredientsI’m about 3/4 of the way through with The School of Essential Ingredients, which is the debut novel by Erica Bauermeister. It’s the story of a woman who runs a weekly cooking school out of her restaurant, and the individual stories of the people in her class. I love novels that feature cooking, and I wanted to love this book–instead, I’m loving the language, but I think the plot is a little thin. Her writing style is lovely, though–

“She shook the last of the water from the potatoes. The skins came off easily, like a shawl sliding off a woman’s shoulders.”

“She stood with her husband and children in the doorway, her three-year-old daughter gripping her leg like an octopus with bones.”

“In the chair beside her, almost hidden in the corner of the room, sat a man whose sadness seemed to have been pressed into his shirt.”

Doesn’t she paint a picture in your mind? I just wish the plot of the book did her beautiful language justice. Maybe I’m just not in the right mood for it right now. I’ll be checking to see if she’s written anything else–this novel came out in 2009.

What did you recently finish reading?

from scratchI obviously have a cooking theme going on! I really liked From Scratch. I loved all the behind-the-scenes stories, and I also had no idea how much of a bare-bones start-up this network was at the beginning. If you’re a Food Network fan, or if you view cooking as entertainment, give this book a try! You’d probably also like this book if you’re interested in the very early days of cable, if you like reading about media in general, or if (like me) you enjoy backstage stories and behind the scenes drama.

What do you think you’ll read next?

apple of my eyeI discovered about a month ago that the author of 84, Charring Cross Road (one of my very favorite “books about books”!) had written an additional FOUR books! Apple Of My Eye was written in 1976 and is a guidebook of sorts to New York City–written with Helene Hanff’s trademark dry, humorous style. I’ve been saving this book for a day when I can truly savor it–and since I have the day off from work on Friday, I’m planning on settling in and emersing myself in pre-21st century New York City. I can’t wait!

What about you? Have you read any of these books? What are you reading, or planning to read? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

12 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday

  1. I liked The School of Essential Ingredients. Sorry it isn’t “grabbing” you. It is well written…I agree with you.

    Have a great day.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My W…W…W…

  2. I love it when you find out an author has published more books than you realised! The School of Essential Ingredients sounds interesting. I hope you become more gripped soon! At least you can appreciate the beautiful writing.

  3. I’ve got The School of Essential Ingredients in my TBR. I’m saving it for when I need something light.

  4. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays October 16, 2013 | The Book Lover's Attic

  5. Apple of my Eye looks really good, will be watching out for your review! Here’s my WWW http://wp.me/p32hC2-pJ

  6. The School of Essential Ingredients sounds interesting. Have you read the Christmas Cookie Club? Sounds similar but much, much lighter.

    And I loved 84 Charing Cross. Thanks for turning me on to other books by the author.

  7. This is the first time I’ve heard of The School of Essential Ingredients and I’m intrigued by it because I enjoy reading books about food. Sorry to hear it’s not working for you, hope you still end up liking it overall.

    • I love books about food too–in fact, I’ll probably be doing a “Tuesday Ten” post soon about my favorites.
      This isn’t a bad book at all–I just wish I liked it more!

Leave a Reply

