Musings From A Bookmammal

Musing Mondays–Little Free Libraries: “Take A Book, Return A Book!”

23 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to muse about one of several “bookish” questions… or, you can just ramble on about anything you like that pertains to books! You can join in by clicking the graphic above. Go ahead–it’s fun!
Here’s my Musing Mondays ramble for this week:

LFL

I first became aware of the Little Free Library project about a year ago when I came across an article about it online. My interest was sparked immediately, and I’ve been so pleased to see that this movement is continuing to grow!

From the official Little Free Library website:

Little Free Library is a non-profit, tax-exempt organization whose mission is to promote a sense of community, reading for children, literacy for adults and libraries around the world . . . In its most basic form, a Little Free Library is a box full of books where anyone may stop by and pick up a book (or two) and bring back another book to share . . . Little Free Libraries themselves are hand-crafted structures that contain constantly changing collections of books donated and shared by people of all ages and backgrounds. Most Little Free Libraries are placed in front yards, parks, gardens and easily accessible locations . . . Some Libraries are located in coffee shops, in or near restaurants and community centers. . . It’s a ‘take a book, return a book’ gathering place where neighbors share their favorite literature and stories . . .”

The project was started in Wisconsin in 2009 with one Little Free Library and has grown to include over 4,000 officially registered Little Free Libraries world-wide! The website includes a map where you can search for Little Free Libraries in your area–most are in the US, but they can be found in other countries as well. You can find a gallery of photos of Little Free Libraries here. Some are very basic–and some are truly works of art!

LFL 1LFL 2I’ve never discovered any Little Free Libraries “in the wild”–although a few of my friends have–and, according to the site map, there aren’t any near my home. However, the map did show that there was one only about 10 minutes from my office. So last week I decided to investigate on my lunch break . . . and I found it! It’s located in the courtyard of a church, and inside are several dozen books for children and adults–a few books of Bible stories for kids, as well as a lot of books by well-known authors such as Laura Ingalls Wilder and John Grisham. The Little Free Library itself looked well cared for–and although no one was near it when I visited, I’m hoping that it’s used often!

As someone who is passionate about literacy and making sure that books are available to all, I simply LOVE the Little Free Library concept, and I’m planning to take some more “field trips” to locate others.

What about you? Take a look at the map–are there any Little Free Libraries in your area? Have you ever come across one? Do you think this idea could work where you live or work? I’d love to know your thoughts–please share!

(Disclaimer–I have no affiliation with the Little Free Library organization.)

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

23 thoughts on “Musing Mondays–Little Free Libraries: “Take A Book, Return A Book!”

  1. That is pretty awesome! ~Deanna

  2. Reblogged this on The Book Lover's Attic and commented:
    I wanted to share this awesome post from Musings From A Bookmammal. Enjoy! ~Deanna

  3. I like the sound of this! Thanks for sharing…and here’s MY MUSING MONDAYS POST

  4. Very cool! I haven’t come across any in my wanderings in the “real world” and the closest ones to me are about 20 minutes or so away, but I have noticed some Kickstarter projects to start one. Hopefully I’ll be able to find one soon, but in the meantime I’m just glad they exist! 😀

  5. Wow I have never heard of those, at my work we do a book swap where we have a shelf where you can pick up a book and in turn leave a book. Those are rather amazing but I don’t think we have any here in the UK, I really hope we do! =D They are rather incredible, such a great idea. My MM

  6. That’s a pretty good idea. I’ve never seen one around here though.

    Sonia Lal

  7. I haven’t found one near me but I would love to put one out. Here is my
    MM

  8. What a wonderful idea. We come across book exchanges at many campsites we visit. They are always our second port of call. They seem to want to make us pay for the campsite first.

    • What a great idea to have book exchanges at campsites! Pay before you read–I guess it makes sense. I’d start reading and then forget to set up camp. I also know that many hotels have created book exchanges or libraries for their guests.

  9. There are quite a few of these in the St. Paul area. They’re such a cute idea and I’ve been wanting my hubby to build one. Hopefully one of these days.

  10. I had read about this in an article. Looking forward to some more of your posts on Little Free Library 🙂

  11. Sad to see there aren’t any in Malaysia. We might have to go be the first.
    Thanks for linking up at Booknificent Thursday!

    Tina

  12. It is just so exciting to come across them! How lovely to have one in a church courtyard. I’ve found three in my town, two in my neighborhood. Now I have a place to drop off my books!

Leave a Reply

