Musings From A Bookmammal

Six Word Saturday

18 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Please–no unexpected guests this morning!

cleaning supplies

My house is a mess. And, since I’m the only human living here, I have no one to blame it on but myself (the cats refuse to do chores). The bathroom needs a good scrubbing, the kitchen needs some serious attention, and I can’t even see the top of my dining room table because of all the mail, paperwork, and general STUFF that has migrated there. I can always tell that I’ve let things go when I start thinking that if someone stopped by unexpectedly, my first impulse would be to visit with them outside and not let them in.

I’ve also discovered that my emotional and mental state of mind seem to be linked to how cluttered (or uncluttered) my environment is. I feel so much more energized when things are picked up and clean!

So–this morning will be devoted to CLEANING and UNCLUTTERING. If I stay focused,  I think things will be under control in  a few hours–feel free to stop by anytime this afternoon!

What about you? What’s on your agenda for this fine Saturday? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

18 thoughts on “Six Word Saturday

  1. I know what you mean about feeling more energised when things are tidy and clean – but sometimes finding the energy to do it is hard! 🙂

  2. Good luck on the cleaning. With upbeat music it will even go better 😀 And if you ever feel the need to unclutter further, then my front door will be wide open! 😉

  3. Your dining room table and my dining room table could be twins.

  4. cleaning and uncluttering makes a huge difference. my office tends to get very messy and when I finally clean – wow! what a difference…

  5. I took note. Can I come in now? 🙂
    Mine was zumba, food shop so that my 24 year old who lives away from home doesn’t waste away, make lunch, watch Rafa Nadal play tennis in Shanghai, respond to 6WS and now I’m off to cook tea before watching Strictly Come Dancing and a glass or two of red.
    How does that sound? 🙂

  6. have a nice Saturday

    much love…

  7. I did my deep clean of the bathroom this morning, too.

  8. We are having our Thanksgiving family dinner on Monday so we are cleaning and uncluttering as well.

  9. I know what you mean about the state of your house being entwined with the state of your mind. I just couldn’t get myself to clean today, even though my house needs it badly. Hope you’re relaxing in your nicely cleaned house! 🙂

  10. I personally need to hire a maid, if I could afford it. I hope you were able to get done what you wanted.

    • I’m not sure if a maid would make me clean less . . . or more! I’m afraid I would be one of those people who feels the need to clean before the maid arrives. I guess I’ll never have to worry about that because I don’t see myself affording a maid anytime soon! 🙂

  11. Good on you. I absolutely hate cleaning but it really is worth having it done. I hope you were successful.

Leave a Reply

