Musings From A Bookmammal

WWW Wednesday

16 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

To join in, just answer the following three (3) questions…

What are you currently reading?

from scratch

From Scratch: Inside the Food Network by Allen Salken

I like to cook almost as much as I enjoy reading–and reading about cooking is the best of both worlds! I’ve been watching The Food Network for years, so I was eagerly looking forward to the release of this new book. I’ve only read about 100 pages but I’m really enjoying it so far. I love “behind-the-scenes” stories, and this book seems like it will provide a lot of great backstories about the chefs–past and present–that I’ve been watching for ages–plus it’s a great account of how a cable TV station was formed from the ground up. I’m just geeky enough to be interested in stuff like this! 🙂

What did you recently finish reading?

Troubled Daughters Twisted Wives

Troubled Daughters, Twisted Wives: Stories From The Trailblazers Of Domestic Suspense edited by Sarah Weinman

This is a collection of fourteen short stories written from the 1940s through the mid-1970s. All were written by women, and all feature women as their main characters. These stories are short on blood and guts, but are filled with psychological suspense. I found most of them deliciously creepy–especially the ones written during the 40s and 50s. If you enjoy short story collections and are in the mood for suspense, you may like this collection!

What do you think you’ll read next?

9780425230459_p0_v1_s260x420

Fair and Tender Ladies by Lee Smith

As always, this is subject to change! I’ve been meaning to read this one for quite awhile. I love books where the narrative is completely told in the form of letters to and from the characters (I may be doing a Tuesday Ten post on this soon!), but for some reason I’ve never read this one–even though it was published about 25 years ago. It may be time to take this one off my TBR shelf!

Have a great reading week, everyone!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

16 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday

  1. LOVE your header…Fabulous.

    The Lee Smith book looks good to me.

    ENJOY your reading.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My W…W…W…

  2. New E-mail follower.

    Looking forward to your posts.

  3. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays October 9, 2013 | The Book Lover's Attic

  4. I love the Food Network, might just have to check that one out! Have a great day! ~Deanna

  5. Troubled Wives sounds interesting!

  6. Oh wow! I love the look of Troubled Daughters, Troubled Wives. It looks fantastic. Happy Reading! 🙂

  7. I’m currently reading , Half forgotten song, by Kathering Webb. It’s a mystery about an old painting, a ghost and and a cottage on the beach. Loving it so far. Am looking forward to reading DAD is Fat, by Jim Gaffigan. He’s usually funny, and this looks like more of the same. I recently reviewed the Exile of Sara Stevenson by Darci Hannah. One of my all time favorites.

    • I’ve heard of that Jim Gaffigan book, but haven’t picked it up. My reading tastes seem to go in spurts, and I haven’t been in so much of a humor mood lately in the books I’ve been reading. I’ll need to keep that one in mind for when I need something lighter!

  8. Troubled Daughters, Twisted Wives looks fabulous. And I mean that literally. That lurid, pulpy cover is great!

  9. Woo–fun books! I will have to check out TD,TW!

  10. Troubled Daughters, Twisted Wives looks interesting, will have to check it out.
    Happy reading!!!

Leave a Reply

