Musings From A Bookmammal

WWW Wednesday

14 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

To join in, just answer the following three (3) questions…

What are you currently reading?

hbz-september-events-Nine-Inches-lgn

I’ve read a couple of  Tom Perrotta’s novels and I thought they were just OK–but I’m enjoying “Nine Inches: Stories”  a lot. So far I’ve read five of the ten. The common theme is everyday people trying to make sense of their lives in everyday suburbia. They’re definitely not lighthearted–these characters are dealing with some issues–but they’re good short character studies. If you’re at all into modern short story collections, I’d suggest giving this one a try.

What did you recently finish reading?

Picture1

I may have to write a separate post about “Eleanor & Park” on another day–there’s so much to say. This book has had so much buzz about it since it came out this past spring that I was prepared not to be impressed. I figured it couldn’t live up to all the hype.

I was wrong. I LOVE being wrong about things like this!

This is the most emotionally moving book I’ve read in a long time. It’s classified as a Young Adult novel, but it’s not just for teens. It will take you right back to high school when you fell in love hard for the very first time–and is there ANY love that hits you like a truck the way that your first high school love did? There were lines of dialogue here that made me laugh out loud, and there were times when I was literally weeping at the sheer emotions that were being experienced by the two main characters–and conveyed so simply and so brilliantly be the author.

There’s probably going to be a movie based on this book at some point, but I’m not sure if I’ll see it. I know EXACTLY what these characters look like and what they sound like, and there’s no way that the pictures on the screen are going to measure up to the pictures that the author has painted inside my head. There just isn’t anything about this book that I didn’t love.

There’s been some controversy about this book (mainly due to some profanity), and it’s been challenged in a school district in Minnesota–but that’s all for a post on a different day. I’ll just say now that I think this book should be read by teens, by parents of teens, by adults who work with teens, and by anyone who remembers–or needs to remember–what it’s like to try to make your way through high school with dignity and self respect. This is a wonderfully entertaining and very moving book.

What do you think you’ll read next?

show me a story

On to something lighter! My reading plans can change on a whim, but right now I’m thinking I’ll be reading “Show Me A Story! Why Picture Books Matter.”  It contains interviews with 21 well known children’s book authors/illustrators. I work in publishing, I still like reading children’s books, and I’m always interested in the thought processes of writers, so I’m hoping that this will be an interesting read.

Have a great reading week, everyone!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

14 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday

  1. I love Eleanor & Park and I agree, it definitely is a brilliant book. I think it deserves to be read in schools.

  2. I loved how authentic the characters’ voices were. And I loved the 80s references!

    • The 80’s references were a definite bonus to those of us who came of age during that time! But I don’t think that they overpowered the plot. I think that teens today can still strongly relate to the story and the characters, even without first-hand 80’s memories.
      Since you teach HS, I bet that this book did resonate with you on a special level.

  3. I will have to check out Eleanor and Park. Happy reading. Here is my WWW http://cynthiastacey.com/2013/10/02/www-wednesdays-oct-2/

  4. I have only heard wonderful things about E&P. If my TBR pile wasn’t deep enough to drown in, I’d add it.

  5. Another great collection. I like the sound of Why Picture Books Matter

  6. These all look good. ENJOY!!

    BEAUTIFUL BLOG.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My W…W…W…

  7. New e-mail subscriber.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My W…W…W…

  8. Thanks! Eleanor and Park sounds amazing! I have to add it to my TBR list!

    Here’s my WWW: http://candy-m.blogspot.com/2013/10/w-w-w-wednesdays-october-2-2013.html

Leave a Reply

