Musings From A Bookmammal

Six Word Saturday

21 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Hockey season starts Tuesday. GO HAWKS!

hawksI don’t “do sports”. I am probably one of the most un-athletic people you’ll ever meet. However, I LOVE to watch sports! Baseball, football, college basketball . . . I’ll even watch golf if it’s a big tournament. And don’t even get me started on the Olympics–I pretty much ignore everything else that’s on TV during those two weeks. But my favorite for the past several years has been hockey–Chicago Blackhawks hockey!

Hockey is such a great sport to watch–it’s fast paced, the stamina of the players is incredible to witness, and their footwork is simply amazing.  Last year’s season got off to a late start because of the strike, but it was all worth it as the Hawks won the Stanley Cup for the second time since 2010.  This year’s season starts on Tuesday night and I’ll be right there in front of my TV in my Hawks jersey (yes, I’m just that geeky!) with a supply of snacks. I’m looking forward to a great season!

What about you? What are you looking forward to next week? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

21 thoughts on “Six Word Saturday

  1. I am looking forward to my last week in my current job before I switch departments. Lots of desk tidying to get through first though 😦

  2. My fantasy hockey draft is Sunday night and I am so behind in looking at anything…I am going to get my butt kicked this year but I am glad hockey is back.

  3. My six words would be – ” sand, sun, sea, sunnies, chappals…..Goa!!!!! ”
    I shall be on a trip to Goa 🙂

  4. We are not big sports fans which is too bad since Toronto will be playing your team this winter.

  5. May they have a great year, enjoy!

  6. I like soccer on TV. Himself watches it with the volume turned low so I can read! lol

    • I hope your husband isn’t a “shouter” when he’s watching–nothing jolts a person out of a good reading session like someone yelling and swearing at the TV–because of course the officials and players can hear. (I can say this because I AM a shouter when I watch sports–my cats will leave the room in overtime situations.)

  7. Never watched hockey, but I can remember it being pretty painful when I was at school. 🙂 I AM crazy about tennis though, and will sit up till all hours watching Rafa Nadal. (no, it’s not the muscles- it’s the passion!)

  8. I hope you have a great season. Yes, hockey hurts!

  9. Music is my passion, and my weekend is full of song.

  10. Yay Team…rah rah rah! Tee hee! I am absolutely NOT into sports…at all! BUT my hubby is and so I hear a little bit about stuff when he gets all worked up about things! He is from Nebraska…so he likes the Huskers. We used to live in Denver…so he also likes the Broncos. He watches golf…and I do enjoy that with him on a lazy Sunday afternoon sometimes! 🙂

    I hope you will have a nice Saturday!

    Linda @ Truthful Tidbits

  11. Oh, funny, at first I thought you were referring to the AFL (Aussie Rules football) grand final which we’ve just had, and which was won by Hawthorn — the Hawks.

Leave a Reply

