Musings From A Bookmammal

Six Word Saturday

21 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

White chicken chili in my crockpot!

Yesterday was the first day that really felt like Fall this year. I LOVE Fall–it’s my favorite season! I think part of the reason is because I love to cook, and many of my favorite things to make are comfort foods–which tend to be things that I mostly like to eat in autumn and winter.

So, in a little while I’ll get my white chicken chili started in the crockpot, and in a few hours my kitchen is going to smell fabulous! This is one of the dishes that I’ve made so many times that I don’t even use the recipe anymore.  I’ll probably sneak a cup or two this afternoon, and then have a huge bowl for dinner tonight.

How about you–What are your Saturday plans? What’s for dinner at your place tonight? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

21 thoughts on “Six Word Saturday

  1. Comfort food in autumn, that does sound very inviting and cozy. Though I still have trouble letting go of summer.
    Enjoy your cooking! 🙂

  2. I can smell it from here. I love BBQ however I also love a good pot roast.

  3. I think a recipe might be called for? Pulled pork BBQ sounds pretty good too 🙂
    You know my views on Fall. Never have read 84 Charing Cross Rd- maybe it’s time 🙂

    • My “recipe” is in the reply below–when I make soup or chili I just kind of throw things in–it’s pretty tough to mess up white chicken chili!
      And yes–if you are a book lover you would love 84 Charing Cross Road!

  4. That sounds very tasty. Do you have the recipe for us? Tonight we are out for dinner, celebrating a friend’s birthday, so I have the night off!

    • Oh boy–I don’t even use a recipe for this anymore!
      But here goes–
      “Bookmammal’s White Chicken Chili for the CrockPot”:
      Throw 2-3 chicken breast halves into the crockpot with one can of chicken broth, 1 small can tomato sauce, 1 envelope of taco seasoning mix, 1 chopped onion, and 1 can of beans (use white beans if you want white chili–I used a can of black beans today since I was out of white.) Let everything cook on low for 4-5 hours. Take the chicken out and shred it–it should just fall apart. Put it back in the crockpot with some corn and some sliced peppers–I use a combination of red, green and yellow to make it pretty! Cook on low for another 2-3 hours. Add in some sour cream at the very end if you wish. Serve topped with shredded cheddar or jack cheese.
      The amounts of the veggies don’t really matter–add to your liking. It’s pretty hard to mess this up!
      Enjoy!

  5. Very nice supper there, Ms. B.M. ~~ We are having gourmet dining at our house tonight. Dinner is at our house tonight so Mrs. Jim is making baked shrimp scampi for the main course to go along with green beans and mushroom toss, confetti rice, and French bread. A Deusa Nai albarino (Spain) goes with that. The rest is peach and tomato gapacho with Mulderbosch Chennin Blanc (South Africa) is for the first course. Dessert is lemon tiramisu. Three other ladies are making all but the schrimp and the French bread. Mrs. Jim bought the wine. It is a set menu made by a menu committee and our whole subdivsion who participate are having the same.

    We aren’t quite to Fall yet but next week one of the days will have a high temp under 90.
    ..
    I probably will take picture for a possible future blog post. We have all the recipes but I generally don’t put that on the blog.
    ..

  6. That’s just so not fair. We’ve driven an hour into the desert with our RV today and I don’t have all the ingredients! I’ll have to wait to try your recipe. Boo.

  7. That sounds lovely. I love cooking in the crockpot, but I am horrible about planning ahead to make it in the morning and let it cook. I love the fall, too.

    • My secret is to TRY to be organized enough to do everything ahead the night before–then all I have to remember in the morning is to get it out of the fridge and plug it in! Of course, on some mornings, even that’s a little much to handle. 🙂

  8. sounds delicious and i am sure it smells great too!

  9. I love Fall too… though not the heavy rains and storms we are having right now! I love the idea of your crockpot though! Feel free to share recipes as well ;). I still need to get a crockpot too. We had a bit of a weird Saturday as Ingo was having a softball tournament and was home late so we didn’t have a real Saturday night dinner.

    • I LOVE my crockpot! There’s nothing like coming home to the smell of a stew simmering away–that is, when I’m organized enough to get everything together and plugged in before I leave in the morning!

Leave a Reply

