Musings From A Bookmammal

WWW Wednesday

21 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

To join in, just answer the following three (3) questions…

What are you currently reading?

reconstructing amanda

If you’re looking for a suspenseful read that takes on the theme of “How well do we really know those we love?” as well as touching on mother-daughter relationships, cyber-bullying, and peer pressure, this might be a good pick for you.

I’m about 3/4 of the way through Reconstructing Amelia, and I’m not sure if I want to race through it to find out how it ends, or if I want to take my time because I’m not quite ready for it to be over. I haven’t read a good psychological thriller in quite awhile, and this one has a lot of the elements that I enjoy in any good piece of fiction–it’s told from alternating viewpoints (I’m always SO HAPPY when an author can effectively pull this off!), parts of  the narrative take the form of texts, online postings, and emails (again, I admire a writer who can make this work) and one of the main themes is modern adolescent life (since I used to teach high school, I usually enjoy adult fiction with teens as main characters). I wouldn’t be surprised if there’s a movie based on this book some day.

What did you recently finish reading?

84 CHaring Cross ROad

I actually just re-read 84 Charing Cross Road because I was looking for something light and fun and filled with humor–and because it’s such a great book about people who love books! This nonfiction title, which is completely comprised of a series of letters written over 20 years, has been around for awhile, but please trust me: if you’re a book lover—-you need to read this! It’s a quick read and you’ll be in a good mood when you finish it!

What do you think you’ll read next?

In Between Days

Right now I’m thinking I’ll be reading In Between Days next–I have it on loan from the library on my Kindle. Here’s the summary taken from Amazon.com:

The Hardings are teetering on the brink. Elson—once one of Houston’s most promising architects, who never quite lived up to expectations—is recently divorced from his wife of thirty years, Cadence. Their grown son, Richard, is still living at home: driving his mother’s minivan, working at a local coffee shop, resisting the career as a writer that beckons him. But when Chloe Harding gets kicked out of her East Coast college, for reasons she can’t explain to either her parents or her older brother, the Hardings’ lives start to unravel. Chloe returns to Houston, but the dangers set in motion back at school prove inescapable. Told with piercing insight, taut psychological suspense, and the wisdom of a true master of character, this is a novel about the vagaries of love and family, about betrayal and forgiveness, about the possibility and impossibility of coming home.

Have a great week of reading, everybody!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

21 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday

  1. Interesting choices. Hope you enjoy them. I’ve never borrowed kindle from the library…cool. Here is my WWW http://cynthiastacey.com/2013/09/11/www-wednesdays-sept-11/

  2. I know just what you mean about Reconstructing Amy–I wanted to read but hated to finish. My book group is going to talk about it Friday–there is much to discuss!

  3. Enjoy ur books…Happy reading! 🙂
    Here is my WWW – http://wp.me/p2Aqoq-cX

  4. I have Reconstructing Amelia to read soon. I’m really looking forward to reading it. 🙂 Happy Reading!

  5. Happy Reading! 84 Charing Cross Road sounds like a good read!

    Here is my link if interested:
    http://champagneandbooks.blogspot.ca/2013/09/www-wednesday-9.html

    • It is a wonderful little book–it was also made into a movie starring Anne Bancroft. But I have to admit I’ve never watched it–I’m afraid it won’t match up with the “movie” inside my head!

  6. I LOVED 84 Charing Cross Road, so wonderful. I think there is a sequel I recently found at the used bookstore, I need to pick that up and check it out. It must be where Nick Bantock got his idea for Griffin and Sabine. Anyway, gonna look into Reconstructing Amelia, thanks for the rec! 🙂

    • The sequel is called (I think) “The Duchess Of Bloomsbury” and I liked it almost as much as the first! If you loved 84–you definitely need to read the sequel to find out what happens next–Enjoy!

  7. Ooh, I really want to read Reconstructing Amelia! Hope you enjoy. 🙂

  8. Reconstructing Amelia and In Between Days both sounds really good! Amelia sounds really intense!

    My WWW

    • I am really looking forward to trying to finish Reconstructing Amelia tonight, as I’m not sure how the author is going to resolve everything that’s up in the air right now!

  9. I have Reconstructing Amelia as a TBR so will be interested in your final thoughts on this one…. my intention is to sort out books this weekend as I’ve lost track of what I actually have…. spoilt for choice!

Leave a Reply

