Musings From A Bookmammal

Musing Monday–When You Can’t Read Just One . . .

12 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to muse about one of several “bookish” questions… or, you can just ramble on about anything you like that pertains to books! You can join in by clicking the graphic above. Go ahead–it’s fun!

Here’s my Musing Mondays ramble for this week:

stack of booksI admit it—I am not into monogamy when it comes to books.

I am ALWAYS reading more than one book at a time. Right now I’m actively reading three books–well, not all at the EXACT same time, but you know what I mean.  I’m sure there have been times when I’ve been reading more than three books at once. I think it’s been that way since I was in my teens. Somehow, I’m able to keep track of what’s going on in each book without mixing things up. The downside is sometimes I don’t remember where I left the book that I want to continue reading!

Of the three books that I’ve got going now, two are nonfiction and one is fiction. All three are interesting enough that I know I’ll finish all of them—it looks like I’ll get done with the fiction title first. They’re all very different in topic, writing style, and intensity, but I didn’t pick any of them for those characteristics—it just happened that way. And I think that’s exactly why I’m always reading multiple books.

I love to read, but I don’t always want or need to read in the same way. Being in the middle of more than one title at a time lets me dive right into whatever type of book is going to meet my needs on any given day. Am I tired and just want to read to escape and not think too hard? Am I energized and ready to tackle something a bit heavier? Am I in the mood to learn about something new? The three books that I’m reading now have all of that covered, and more.

What about you? Are you a multi-book reader? Or are you a “book monogamist” who prefers to give one book your full attention before starting the next one? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

12 thoughts on “Musing Monday–When You Can’t Read Just One . . .

  1. I am almost always a book monogamist. I’ll very rarely read a non-fiction book and a fiction book at the same time, since that tends to mean reading books that are very different and won’t blend together in my head. More than worrying about getting two books confused though, I think I’m just a little obsessive about finishing one book before starting another! I’m actually trying my first read-a-longs this month and having a book sitting around that I only read a certain amount of each week is bothering me less than I expected. It’s just so much fun to get to discuss it with other people, that it’s worth it to me to have to put it down and read something else for awhile 🙂

  2. I do the same. Right now I am reading three, two fiction and one non-fiction. Here is my MM

  3. I tend to read one book at a time…but I have, on occasion, read more than one. Especially when they are of different genres. For example, I’ve read a chunkster memoir at night while reading lighter fiction by day.

    Here’s MY MUSING MONDAYS POST

  4. I have different books for different reading opportunities: My gym bag book, my commute-to-work book, my nightstand book. Now that I think of it, I’m very impressed that I keep the storylines straight! Perhaps it’s because, like you, I tend to juggle books by author’s with different styles. Right now I’m revisiting a familiar old Cat Who mystery (commute) and reading a brand new Lisa Scottoline, which is pretty fast-paced (gym bag) and Mia Farrow’s autobiography (nightstand). No chance of getting those three confused …

    • That’s interesting…I don’t think I usually have different books for different places. I tend to bring books with me from place to place, which explains why I sometimes really have to think about where a book might be when I’m reading more than one! In the car? In my purse? Left at my office? By the bed? So many possibilities!

  5. I am a one book person. During the period of reading a book, I live in midst of the characters, living their lives with them. So, one book at one time is what i enjoy the most. 🙂
    BTW I am always awed by people who can read multiple books. 🙂

  6. I can only seem to manage one book at a time – I have tried the fiction/non-fiction split but it just doesn’t work for me. Isn’t it great how we are all different?

Leave a Reply

