Musings From A Bookmammal

Sunday Stealing–More, Part 2

11 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

What would you choose to be famous for? All that paparazzi? No thanks–I’ll pass on being famous!

If you have a webcam, are you ever paranoid people can see you? I have one on my laptop but I’ve never used it, and I don’t even know how to turn it on.

Do you find it difficult to sleep at night? Any reason(s) why? Yes! Unless I am extremely tired, I wake up at least 1-2 times every night. It used to be worse. I think it’s just because I have “monkey mind” and have trouble turning it off.

If you had to go on a game show, which would you choose? I think it would be awesome to be on Jeopardy!

 What about if you had to go on a reality show? Which would you choose then? Oh boy. This is my guilty pleasure. I do watch and enjoy certain reality TV shows (they make me feel as if I have absolutely NO PROBLEMS in my life!), even though I know the reality isn’t real. But I know enough about them to know that I’d never want to be on one myself!

Tell me about your favorite TV show. I like “The Middle” which is a sit-com about a “typical” Midwestern family. Brick is my favorite character.

Why were you last irritated? Friday at work when someone else’s failure to plan ahead somehow became my problem. I hate that! Clean up your own mess, people!

What time did you get up this morning?  I woke up around 6am but I didn’t actually get up until almost 7am. I can’t sleep late even if I try!

The last city you were in: Where was it and do you like it there? I was in Sarasota this summer. I was there for a conference so I didn’t see much of it, but our hotel was right on the water and that was heavenly!

Do you like the countryside? I do, but I don’t see it very often.

If you see someone yawn, do you often yawn as well? probably

Recommend me a good movie: One of my favorite movies of all time is “Ordinary People” with Mary Tyler Moore and Donald Sutherland—and it was Timothy Hutton’s very first film. If I ever just need a good cathartic cry, watching certain scenes in that movie will do it for me every time.

Do you think you’d make a good model? Would you ever want to be one?  I’m not too interested in fashion—I want to look presentable, appropriate, comfortable, and clean, but that’s about it. So, no—I don’t think I have the right mindset to be a model. Not to mention not having the physical requirements . . .

How often do you change your hairstyle? What does it look like now? Well, right now it’s combed, but that’s it. If I’m leaving the house, my bangs are swept to the side, and the sides are curled back. I’ve had the same style for a long time.

Do you have a favorite day of the week? Which is it? Right now I really like Mondays because Monday night is when I go to my yoga class.

Are you alone? Nope—my two cats are here with me. In fact, one of them is on my lap.

When is the last time you were on the phone after 2 am? The last time I got a “middle of the night” phone call was when I was still working retail—the security alarm at the store went off and I was first on the call list because I was the manager who lived the closest. I had to get up and go meet the police at the store. Turned out to be a false alarm. That’s one of the many reasons why I no longer work retail!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

11 thoughts on “Sunday Stealing–More, Part 2

  1. Ordinary People is such a good movie. And Mary Tyler Moore plays a woman so very different from Laura Petrie/Mary Richards. I read once that Natalie Wood wanted the part very badly, but she didn’t contact Redford until he was already contracturally obligated to MTM. I can’t imagine anyone else as Beth Jarrett. That middle-of-the-night call must have been so upsetting! I’m glad it was just a false alarm

    • Natalie Wood? I hadn’t heard about that. No. . . it had to be MTM! And you’re right–part of the appeal of her performance was that it was such a brilliant departure from her usual character choices. Now I’m in the mood to watch it again . . .

  2. I am a Middle fan as well. So much better than Rosanne’s middle Americans.

  3. Yesterday I ordered the DVD of Ordinary People, funny you mention it here. Wasn’t it also Redford’s directorial debut?

    • I think you’re right about Robert Redford.
      Have you read the book that the move was based on–by Judith Guest? It used to be on many HS reading lists–not sure if it still is these days. Great book–but this is one of the few times when I like the movie more than the book. Please let me know what you think of the movie!

      • The movie and the book are both favorites of mine. I realized I don’t have a copy of the movie and wanted to add it to my collection. I actually taught the novel when I first started teaching high school ELA. Now I teach social studies.

      • I used to teach in a high school special ed program.

  4. I’m with you. I would not want to be famous either.

  5. you sound organized and methodical

Leave a Reply

