Musings From A Bookmammal

Saturday Nine–Band On The Run

8 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

1) This song is about a band of musicians that escapes on an adventure. Do you consider yourself spontaneous and adventurous? I’m usually all about making plans—which I think are actually part of the fun–not so much about just picking up and doing things on the spur of the moment.

2) Paul McCartney and Wings traveled all the way to Lagos, Nigeria, to record Band on the Run. That’s a long, long way from London. What’s the farthest from home you’ve ever been? I’ve been to California several times, which is about 2,000 miles from where I live.

3) Wings featured Linda McCartney on keyboards. Paul said that when Linda died, after almost 30 years together, he lost the love of his life. Who is the love of your life? Or have you yet to meet him/her? I have yet to meet him.

4) Paul has said he’s very proud of Band on the Run, his most successful post-Beatles album. Brag a little. Tell us something you’re proud of.  I’m very proud that I am completely financially independent and have no debt.

5) Paul’s birth certificate reads “James Paul McCartney.” He’s named for his father, Jim. Are you named after anyone? Nope—my parents didn’t want to cause disagreements between families, so they purposefully didn’t name me after anyone.

6) Paul enjoys oil painting in his spare time. What’s one of your hobbies? I love to cook!

7) 20 Forthlin Road, Paul McCartney’s boyhood home, has been turned into a museum by the British government. It’s a modest 2 bedroom cottage, with a drainpipe that Paul used to climb to sneak in after curfew. How would you describe your childhood home? A small, two story house with a great back yard. I lived there from age 7 until I moved out after graduating from college. My parents moved from there about fifteen years ago. I recently was looking at some photos of it and I couldn’t believe how incredibly tiny it looks to me now!

8) Paul is 5’11”. How tall are you? 5’8” in my bare feet.

9) Actor Christopher Lee is on the album cover. He played Dracula in a series of movies in the 1950s and 1960s. Who is your favorite vampire? The Count from Sesame Street, of course!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

8 thoughts on “Saturday Nine–Band On The Run

  1. I’m so jealous of you for having no debt. That is *definitely* something to be very proud of!

  2. I love your blog and I really think reading could have been the hobby I should have selected.

    • Thank you so much!
      The only reason I didn’t list reading as my hobby is that it just seems like a natural part of who I am–and a hobby, to me, seems like something “extra”!

  3. No debt! How wonderful!!! And we picked the same vampire! 🙂

  4. I love to cook too…only…I like to eat what I cooks which seems to get me into trouble…

Leave a Reply

