Musings From A Bookmammal

WWW Wednesday

9 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

What are you currently reading?

top_of_the_morning_book_cover_a_p

I really enjoy reading “behind the scenes” books, and I’m interested in media of all kinds, so I’m liking this book so far. It’s about the fight for ratings among the morning TV talk shows during the last decade or so and all the dealmaking and intrigue that have gone on. So far, so good!

What did you recently finish reading?

untitled

This subject of this book has absolutely nothing to do with my life–which is why I think I found it so interesting! The Bling Ring is the true story of a group of 18-year-olds who live in Los Angeles and who are obsessed with fame and celebrities. They begin breaking into the homes of a number of celebrities such as Lindsey Lohan and Paris Hilton to steal clothes, jewelry, and other items that they think will help transform them into their “idols.” Surprisingly, they have a pretty easy time of it, as famous people can apparently be surprisingly lax about locking their doors and setting their burglar alarms. They are eventually caught and most of them did serve some jail time. I thought this was a fascinating story about young people having a sense of complete entitlement, as well as the whole phenomena of “being famous for being famous.” This was complete escape-reading for me, and I loved every page of it!

What do you think you’ll read next?

blue plate special

Of course there are a ton of books on my TBR pile, but I may try this one next. I love to read autobiographies and I love to eat–what could be better than an autobiography with the common links of food and eating running throughout? Blue Plate Special is a memoir that uses the role of food as the common theme throughout the life of author Kate Christensen.  I’m looking forward to this book!

Happy reading, everybody!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

9 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday

  1. The Bling Ring looks like a good read. 🙂 I hope you enjoy your books!

  2. I want to see the movie The Bling Ring, I didn’t know it was a book too! It sounds really interesting, I’m going to have to look into it!!

  3. I didn’t realize The Bling Ring was a book! I’ll have to pick it up.

    • From your blog, I think you teach HS, right? You’d probably find it interesting to compare the attitudes of your students with the recent HS grads in this book. Hopefully your students have different values! 🙂

  4. Wow, these books all look interesting! Particularly the Top of The Morning one. Thanks for visiting me earlier and I hope you enjoy your books 🙂

    • Top Of The Morning is pretty interesting–even though I don’t watch the morning TV talk shows myself (it’s all I can do to get myself out the door on time in the mornings!), I still think all the behind-the-scenes stuff is fascinating.

Leave a Reply

