Musings From A Bookmammal

Saturday 9–Come Monday

4 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

1) What will you be doing come Monday (Labor Day)? Not much! I’ll be with family on Sunday, but Monday will hopefully be a pretty lazy day since I have the day off from work.

2) This song is about a performer who is “heading up to San Francisco for the Labor Day weekend show.” When you think of San Francisco, what’s the first thing that comes to mind? Cable cars! I’ve been to San Francisco twice and riding the cable cars is so much fun. I love San Francisco.

3) As he sings, Buffett tells us he’s wearing Hush Puppies casual shoes. What’s on your feet as you answer these nine questions? Does nail polish count? Other than that, I’m barefoot!

4) So many Jimmy Buffett songs take place on or around the water. When was the last time you were on a boat? About ten years ago I was on a dinner cruise as part of a sales conference.

5) Everyone knows Jimmy Buffett can write music, but he also has more than half a dozen books to his credit. What’s the last book you read? I read all the time. The last book I finished was The Astronaut Wives Club, which is a nonfiction book about (who else?) the wives of the astronauts in the 1960’s-1970’s.

6) Jimmy’s persona is that of a simple beach bum, but in reality he’s a conglomerate, with his own beverage company, more than a dozen restaurants and a couple hotels. He’s so successful he has several homes, including a luxury mansion in the Hamptons! If you, like Buffett, could just take off and spend Labor Day weekend anywhere, where would you go? Who would you take along? Honestly, right now, the mere thought of packing and traveling to go somewhere exhausts me! I’d stay right here. I’m kind of a homebody at heart, I guess.

7) This weekend may offer a golden opportunity for napping and sleeping in. Do you snore? I’ve been told that I do not.

8) Labor Day was introduced to celebrate the achievements of the American worker. Yet this Recession has taken its toll on many of us laborers. Sam’s brother, a movie projectionist, hasn’t worked full-time in his chosen profession in more than a year. Is anyone close to you struggling with unemployment or underemployment? (If so, they are in our thoughts this weekend, too.) Everyone I am close to is employed. I’m lucky—it’s rough out there.

9) Onto something happier … Labor Day traditionally marks the beginning of the new school year. When she was a kid, Samantha was crazy for her brand new box of 96 Crayola Crayons. It even had a sharpener in the back! What do you remember about preparing to go back to school? If you’re a parent with schoolage kids, are they ready? I LOVED the first day of school, both as a student and as a teacher. As a kid, I remember that my mom took my photo every year on the first day–every year up through high school! I’m sure there were years that I rolled my eyes, but it’s a lot of fun looking at those pictures now!

As a teacher, there are always two first days–first day of faculty meetings, and the first day with the kids. I was always so excited to meet the kids in my new classes on the first day and start to figure out what the personality of each class would be. I left teaching almost twenty years ago, and I still have “school dreams” every August.

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

4 thoughts on “Saturday 9–Come Monday

  1. Spot on about the two first days of school for teachers! Two completely different days, too, as far as the fun and excitement goes.

  2. Sure- nail polish counts 🙂
    Have a great weekend!

  3. I heard the author of the Astronaut’s Wives Club and it sounds fascinating. Thanks for reminding me.

Leave a Reply

