Musings From A Bookmammal

Musing Mondays–No Kid Should Leave the Library Empty Handed!

10 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to muse about one of several “bookish” questions… or, you can just ramble on about anything you like that pertains to books! You can join in by clicking the graphic above. Go ahead–it’s fun!

This is my first Musing Monday–and here’s a mini-ramble prompted by this quote:

ffcbe9dc7a5bdb9f47fb0a1b6cc533c0

When I was in grade school, our librarian, Mrs. H, was one of those who seemed nervous to have any of the books leave the shelves, and it was really important to her that the shelves look neat and tidy at all times. If she thought a book was too hard, then that kid wasn’t checking it out. A little boy who was nearly jumping up and down because he’d just found the PERFECT book about trucks—no matter–if Mrs. H didn’t think he should check out that book, it just wasn’t happening.

Luckily for me, my parents took me to the public library regularly, and I had books of my own at home. I was also a good enough reader that Mrs. H didn’t spend a lot of time trying to steer me towards “more appropriate” books. But I can still remember the kids who didn’t get to take home the book they really wanted. I wonder if those kids—now grown–are readers today.

It’s a slippery slope. Librarians and teachers want kids to have success when they read. No one wants to see a kid quit a book in frustration. We need to help guide our kids to help them make wise reading choices. But sometimes motivation and engagement should be the deciding factor. If a kid shows up at the checkout desk beaming—then that kid should leave the library with that book. Simple as that.

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

10 thoughts on “Musing Mondays–No Kid Should Leave the Library Empty Handed!

  1. I totally agree, not all books need to be read by the child if an adult or older child is around quite complex information can be understood. Books are for sharing too – note to all teachers who forget that reading should be for pleasure first and then the learning takes care of itself…. rant over ;o)

    • Absolutely–we need to do all we can to encourage our young readers–and that means encouraging their interests while also being flexible about “official” reading levels!

  2. I agree as well. You never know if that one book that a child “had to have” would have sparked a lifelong love of reading and someone squashed it.

    • Right–the key is to spark their initial interest. Plus–there’s nothing wrong with an adult saying something like “This book might be challenging–let’s find some other books that you might want to check out along with this one!”

  3. Totally agree…they find a book they love and they may just be hooked for life!
    Welcome to WW!

  4. Books are meant to be read and enjoyed – some people should not be librarians like the one who told the 9 year old that he read too much:

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/08/22/tyler-weaver-library-contest_n_3796807.html

  5. I could not agree more! I’d like the librarian to say, “Wow! You picked a really challenging book. Good job! I’d love to talk about it with you or help you if you get stuck, but I think you can do it!” What was she thinking???

    Thanks for linking up with Booknificent Thursday!
    Tina

    • I love your suggested responses! We just can’t afford to discourage kids from reading in any way. Granted–this situation happened when I was in elementary school (more years ago than I care to admit!)–I hope the general attitude is different today, but I suspect this type of discouragement still happens, unfortunately.

  6. Pingback: L is for LIBRARY NOSTALGIA–The April A-Z Challenge/Day 12 | Musings From A Bookmammal

  7. I totally agree. And parents should read around the house, so the children think it is a normal thing to do. SD

Leave a Reply

