Musings From A Bookmammal

Booking Through Thursday

2 Comments

Booking Through Tursday

 

(Click above to join in!)

Here’s today’s prompt:

We all know the beauty of reading a really wonderful book for the first time—when everything about the story and the writing and the timing click to make a reader’s perfect storm … but it’s fleeting, because you can never read that book for the first time again.

So … if you could magically reset things so that you had the chance to read a favorite book/series again for the first time … which would you choose? And why?

And then, since tastes change … Do you think it would have the same affect on you, reading it now, as it did when you read it the first time? Would you love it just as much? Would you risk it?

About fifteen years ago I was really into reading John Grisham. I remember avoiding reading his book A Time To Kill because I knew it included graphic description of abuse. A friend of mine told me that if I could just get through the first ten pages or so, I would be OK and in for a great read. I went ahead, and my friend was right—it was a great book after I got through that first horrific scene.

 I vividly remember reading a later scene featuring the young girl’s father and the lawyer (can’t remember their names as I read it so long ago!). There was one line of dialogue that literally gave me chills as I read it. I have never read a book since that gave me such a physical reaction to such a small piece of text. There was something about how that one sentence was crafted and how it brilliantly foreshadowed what was to come that made me have to stop and catch my breath.

 I wish I could read that book again for the first time to see if I would have the same reaction to that one line fifteen years later.

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

2 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday

  1. Ooh, I never read the book but I saw the movie and it was really full on [shiver].

  2. The movie was good, and Matthew McConaughey is certainly easy on the eyes, but, as usual, I thought the book was so much better!

Leave a Reply

